Scientific Council of MIFP

President of the scientifi council of MIFP:
Professor Boris Altshuler

Boris Altshuler (born 27 January 1955 in Leningrad, USSR (now St. Petersburg, Russia)) is a professor of physics at Columbia University

His specialty is theoretical condensed matter physics. Altshuler received his diploma in physics from Leningrad State University in 1976. He continued on at the Leningrad Institute for Nuclear Physics, where he was awarded his Ph.D. in physics in 1979. Altshuler stayed at the institute for the next ten years as a research fellow.

In 1989, Altshuler joined the faculty of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. While there, he received the Hewlett-Packard Europhysics Prize (now called the Agilent Physics Prize) and became a fellow of the American Physical Society.
Altshuler left MIT in 1996 to take a professorship at Princeton University. While there, he became affiliated with NEC Laboratories-America.
Recently, Altshuler has joined the faculty of Columbia and continues to work with the NEC Labs.

Awards and honors:

  • 1993 Hewlett-Packard Europhysics Prize
  • 1993 Became a fellow of the American Physical Society
  • 1996 Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • 2002 Elected to the National Academy of Sciences
  • 2003 Oliver E. Buckley Prize of the American Physical Society

Members of the Scientific Council:

  • President
    • Prof. Boris Altshuler, Columbia University, New York, USA
  • Scientific Director of MIFP
    • Prof. Alexey Kavokin, Westlake University, Hangzhou, China 
    • Prof. Rinaldo Santonico, Physics Department, University of Rome II, Italy
    • Prof. Andrey Varlamov, Consiglo Nazionale della Ricerca, Italy
    • Prof. Aldo Di Carlo, Engineering Department, University of Rome II, Italy
    • Prof. Igor Lukyanchuk, Universite d'Amiens, France
    • Prof. Anvar Zakhidov, University of Texas